top of page
  • Writer's pictureAshlee Stockwell

Walking Through New Orleans

There's a mystic charm you can feel along the old streets of the French Quarter. And now I have a funny story about a dress to go along with it.

As an #urbanophile born in Southern Louisiana, it's easy to assume I have a great love for the #BigEasy, "Nawlins" as they call it. My love only grew deeper after taking Louisiana History at uni. Any chance I can get to go walk the old town feel of the French Quarter, the Vieux Carré as it's called. The history runs deep through the old streets and historic structures that still exist and operate today. Locals, Cajuns, and many other Louisianians alike believe that much of New Orleans is haunted, that spirits still roam the streets today. After all, the infamous voodoo priestess Marie LaVeau practiced her dark magic in New Orleans during the 1800s and is now buried in St. Louis Cemetery, a place you can only visit by tour. This is on my list to do on a future visit to the Big Easy.


On this particular visit to New Orleans in 2013, I had bought a cute polka-dot dress in a vintage shop facing the riverfront somewhere along Decatur Street. We enjoyed another fantastic day with perfect weather, walking through the streets of the Vieux Carré, my late fiancé and I, when we stumbled upon this adorable, picture-perfect purple house. I had to have my photograph taken in front of it in my new dress! My mother loves purple and I knew she would appreciate the vintage feel of the polka-dot dress and the flowers on the wrought-iron balcony. These photographs are some of my favorite memories from a special trip I'll never forget with an incredible person I'll never forget. The funny part about these photos is that I did forget this fantastic dress in the hotel closet the next day with a fabulous, mid-calf length wool coat. I wore it one day. I bought this dress, strolled around the French Quarter in it, and never wore it again. I wonder sometimes where it is now and what adventures it has seen without me in it. Farewell, polka-dot dress. I'll never forget the day we spent together.

Moral of the story: Always check the hotel closet before you leave!

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page